Sleep Coffee and Me

When I was a child, I would avoid it at all costs. I was afraid it would cause me to miss something exciting.  In high school, I learned to appreciate it. In fact, there were times that I would slip away with it without really meaning to on a quiet Sunday afternoon. When I got married, my husband and I would enjoy it together. After babies, I lost it. I thought it was gone forever. I mourned the loss of it. Literally. Everyone knew it was missing because of the expression on my face….red glazed eyes, drawn lips, gritted teeth…it was obvious.

As the children grew, I found it once again. In fact, we would often share it…Now, I find that it sneaks up on me! One day at work it hit me so hard that I almost knocked my head on my desk! I was just sitting there, minding my own business, listening to my boss and, WHAM! The paper in my hand fell and as my arm jerked, my head went south. My boss started to sound muffled and far away…

AH….Sleep. My beautiful friend…or is it my enemy? It seems I can never get enough of it. When I was young, I avoided it. I saw it as something bad…there to ruin my fun. As a teenager, I started appreciating naps, but still didn’t want to sleep at night (when you are supposed to sleep). As a young mother, my first child never slept. Ever. He slept maybe three hours a night and not all at one time.   Utter exhaustion does not begin to describe what I felt. When I look at pictures from that time I have to laugh. What a pitiful sight staring back at me!

The second baby was better and naps became a daily occurrence. The three of us would climb into bed and go off to a restful blissful slumber. Eventually they matured into very busy teenagers.  Working full time and trying to keep up with them, sleep once again escapes me.

Thus, the day I fell asleep at my desk. There was no warning. I was awake, elbow on the desk, looking at a piece of correspondence and my lights went OUT. Apparently, if you ignore sleep at my age, it visits whether you are ready or not. It tries to visit me at church sometimes. I’ve even had it attempt to visit while I drive. (That is NOT a friendly visit! Well, neither is a visit at church).

I have found the solution. The solution, of course, is to go to bed at 8:00 at night and sleep until 8:00 the next morning; uninterrupted, including no potty visits. Since this solution only takes place in my fantasy world, the solution that remains is coffee. Not just regular coffee, for I’ve found that I am now immune to that. No, the double-shot-of-espresso kind of coffee. It works. It’s a beautiful thing.

So, for those of you that wonder why I always post about coffee…besides my faith in Jesus…it’s the only thing that keeps me going!

And, now you can see the things I ponder…Image

© [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com], [2013-2015]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Categories: Coffee, Sleep, Women | Tags: , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Sleep Coffee and Me

  1. I could read your writing all day! 🙂

    Like

  2. Linda Bates

    I love this, Lisa. You said it perfectly!! I tend to feel
    guilty when I sleep in on Saturdays…sigh. Enjoyed your thoughts!

    Like

  3. Love it, Lisa! You bring laughter and smiles to the “everyday.” 🙂

    Like

  4. Love this Lisa, it makes me feel like I’m still sitting right next to you again at work!!! MISS YOU!!
    I have a friend called keurig! Wyatt will be 1 the end of this month and he is definitely a BOY, very busy and into everything!!! Don’t know how the Christmas tree will happen this year!!!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

