It’s Time to Forgive Yourself

2 Corinthians 5:17 NIV Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

I have some good news for you today. It’s actually old news, but news that it seems we all (myself included) seem to forget. So, today God is sending you a little reminder.

Those of us who have told the Lord we are sorry for our mistakes, sins, transgressions, and have asked Him to forgive us are FORGIVEN. As soon as we confess and seek His forgiveness, He forgives. Not only does He forgive; the Bible says he forgets:

Isaiah 43:25 NIV “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.”

Jeremiah 31:34 KJV …”for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.”

Hebrews 10:17 KJV And their sins and iniquities will I remember no more.

So, if God forgives our sin and then blots it from HIS memory, shouldn’t we be able to forgive ourselves? It’s hard enough to forgive someone that hurt us. But, it seems that self-forgiveness is incredibly difficult. We just don’t let go.

About a year ago, I was dealing with this issue. I just could not forgive myself and let go. Someone said to me, “Have you ever considered that the Bible says that once God forgives us, He no longer remembers? So, when you keep bringing up this issue before Him, He is saying back to you, “Child, I don’t know what it is you are speaking of, that page has been erased”. That was the beginning of freedom for me.

I pray that you can also enjoy the freedom of giving your mistakes to Him, asking forgiveness, and then letting go.

(From my Monday devotional)

© [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com], [2013-2015]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Categories: Forgiveness, Let go of past sin, self-forgiveness | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s Time to Forgive Yourself

  1. Esta Mae

    Thank you, Lisa! ❤

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.