No Amount of Make-Up

Today is one of those days. No amount of make-up is going to cover the lack of sleep from last night.

I applied my foundation. Hmmm. I look a little cleaner, but, wow, those dark circles are something! Next I went for the concealer. Four or five layers later the bags and circles are a little less noticeable. They are still there, however, telling everyone, “Hey, Lisa did not sleep enough last night!”

Next plan: the glasses. Yes, I need them to see. Glasses can also be a great camouflage for dark circles and bags. And, they can make you look smart! Bonus!

Alas, no amount of make is going to make me look bright and cheery and alert.  No, sleep would have done that. The glasses help, but the eyes still tell my story. I did not sleep.

I stayed up way too late. I knew it was too late. But, I had things that needed to be done! I had to exercise, read a book, have a book discussion, talk to my friends, cook dinner, eat dinner, clean-up dinner, pack lunches, talk to my friends again, read another book, check Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, and  the house needed some picking up. So, sleep was what I needed, but everything else seemed more important at the time.

Where am I going with this? I’m glad you asked! You see, sleep is like time with God! We all need it! But, somehow, everything else just seems more important at the time. We have so many things to do, that God gets pushed to the bottom of the list. And, we realize it in time because we can tell by our ugly attitudes, our bitterness, and our discontent. We might try to cover these things up with a fake smile here, a laugh there, or maybe quote a scripture for the day. But, nothing can really cover it up. We still know in our hearts what we are missing and people can see that we aren’t getting what we need.

So, instead of trying to cover up what we are missing, why don’t we try doing the things we know we need? Let’s do some reorganizing of our priorities and see what happens!

(A side note to ease your fears. I WILL continue to wear make-up even when I get enough sleep… I just won’t have as much to cover.)

© [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com], [2013-2015]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Categories: Prioritizing, Sleep, Time with God, Women | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “No Amount of Make-Up

  1. Jan Brooks

    Very well said!! We must spend time with God or like your bags,sags,& circles of darkness. Our hearts, life’s, & attitudes will show it

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

