Do You Do the Resolution Thing?

I had a friend ask me yesterday, “Do you do New Year’s Resolutions?” My answer was a loud (as loud as I could be on text), “NO!”

I don’t like New Year’s resolutions. Obviously, a lot of people disagree with me because many people make them every January 1st. But, many of those people will also be disappointed by February when they have already failed to meet their goal. It just seems that I should be in a constant state of resolution. I don’t need a special day of the year to know what it is I need to do. 

For instance. I know I need to lose some weight. I’ve known that since about May when I started gaining weight. I knew at the time I should start watching what I ate, exercising more, and maintaining my weight. Instead, I kept eating more, exercising, well, not at all, and gaining weight. So, now, instead of five pounds, I need to lose about fifteen pounds. Great.  Well, I don’t need to wait until the first day of 2014 to change things. I’ve decided I should start NOW.

Hmm. Bible reading. I do it. I study the Word for devotions. But, do I spend enough time reading the Bible for my personal growth? No. So, do I need to wait another week to make the resolution to read my Bible more often? That is a “no” also. I can do that tonight. 

Prayer. Same scenario. I’m not giving God nearly enough of my time and attention. He should be my main focus, my top priority. That can start now also; no need to make a New Year’s resolution! 

So, no, I do not make New Year’s Resolutions. I have decided, rather, to constantly try to self-evaluate and re-evaluate my life and make adjustments as needed. I’m thankful that I have the voice of the Holy Spirit to gently (and sometimes not-so-gently) remind me when I’m out of line.

Hebrews 4:12 (AMP) For the Word that God speaks is alive and full of power [making it active, operative, energizing, and effective]; it is sharper than any two-edged sword, penetrating to the dividing line of the breath of life (soul) and [the immortal] spirit, and of joints and marrow [of the deepest parts of our nature], exposing and sifting and analyzing and judging the very thoughts and purposes of the heart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com], [2013-2015]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to [Lisa Bull] and [mommalisaof2@wordpress.com] with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Categories: Encouragement, Faith, Prioritizing, Time with God | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Do You Do the Resolution Thing?

  1. Pat

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

