Confession

Deuteronomy 4:29-31(AMP)

29 But if from there you will seek (inquire for and require as necessity) the Lord your God, you will find Him if you [truly] seek Him with all your heart [and mind] and soul and life.

30 When you are in tribulation and all these things come upon you, in the latter days you will turn to the Lord your God and be obedient to His voice.

31 For the Lord your God is a merciful God; He will not fail you or destroy you or forget the covenant of your fathers, which He swore to them.

Confession time. It’s the last day of the year, so it’s a good time to confess, right? I am guilty. Things have been pretty good for me lately. 2012 ended on a very low and scary note for me. 2013 started out rough. But, as the year went on, God blessed me abundantly with friends and opportunities that I never imagined possible. I feel so unworthy of all of His grace.

So, what is my confession? When I was in my “valley” I was also the most in tune with God than I have ever been in my life. I spent countless hours in His presence, seeking His face. But when He delivered me from that place, I slowly stopped spending as much time with Him. I became more dependent on myself than on Him.

Recently, some things have taken place that caused me stop and say, “Hey. Why is this happening? That’s not how this is supposed to be. Wait. Hey, God, where are You?”  And, can you guess what He said to me? I bet you can. He said, “Where are YOU? You haven’t been spending time, real time, with Me. What do you want from Me when you won’t talk to Me?”

Wow. Painful.

Then He reminded me that if I will come back to Him, seeking Him, I will find Him. He will not fail me. He is merciful. He loves me. I remembered how much I need Him daily, even hourly.

Have you ever found yourself in this same situation? Are you there now? The good news is, He is always there waiting for you. He has His arms open to you; you just need to walk into them.

 

 

Categories: Encouragement, Forgiveness, Time with God | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Confession

  1. Delores Carr

    Lisa, do you remember what your grandfather has often said? “When I need God, I pray. The more desperately I need God, the more desperately I pray. To NOT pray is to say, ‘I don’t need you today. God.’ Therefore, a day without prayer is a boast against God.”

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

