Lifting Weights (the emotional kind)

Last night was one of those nights. I had a heavy heart.

Several things were on my mind regarding my life…decisions headed my way, changes taking place…things were just weighing me down.

In addition, I have a number of issues touching the lives of family and friends. I have major family issues on both sides of our family. A very close friend’s mother is dying. Another friend is feeling desperately lonely. I have a friend who is very sick. One of my close friend’s mother is injured and her husband is quite ill. The list goes on.

Last night I just felt over-whelmed. The tears came. I retired to my room early to be alone and try to sort out my feelings.

The Bible instructs us to bear one another’s burdens. Last night it felt like everyone had so many burdens of their own, I felt almost guilty to ask for prayer for myself.

Have you ever felt that way? I’m just being real here, my friends.

I’m so grateful that God is always there! Can you imagine being God? He hears every prayer of every person on this planet. How amazing is that? He is never too busy or over-whelmed. He cares about every single need of every single soul. How amazing! His peace and His grace are never-ending.

John 14:27 (ESV) Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Lifting Weights (the emotional kind)

  1. depthseeker

    You have a very tender heart and a gift of intercession. Not everyone “feels” the burden as you have described. Sometimes I wonder what’s wrong with me, but I have come to accept that it’s a gift. It’s not being overly emotional. It’s the gift of intercession. I don’t think you should ever apologize for it, but instead embrace it because God has entrusted you as an advocate for others who may not have the strength to petition on their own behalf.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

