An Angel for Our “Angel”

Image

Psalm 91:11 KJV For He will give His angels charge concerning you, to guard you in all your ways.

Do you believe in angels? I certainly do. Let me tell you our story.

When our first son was born, he was beautiful and perfect in our eyes. But, something just seemed a little “off”. He never slept well and he was very restless. By the time he was a few months old, he would reach up and dig at his eyes and cry. He cried a lot.  Soon his skin started to become blotchy, eventually turning into bleeding oozing sores. Our precious baby looked diseased and felt miserable. I was exhausted as he only slept three hours or so a night and not all at one time.

We visited several doctors, from whom we received little help. They treated us as though we were over-reacting new parents.

One day, while at work, my mother-in-law called me and said, “Honey, something is wrong with the baby. His eyes look glassy and he isn’t cooing or moving around.” I immediately left work. When I got there I knew that I knew something was seriously wrong. I called a Christian doctor who my parents knew and through my tears described my baby’s condition. They sent us straight to the hospital where he was admitted. He had severe eczema, to the point that he had become terribly infected. My baby was in danger.

After we got through the hospital visit, our son was on several medications; some of which they said he would soon need to be weaned. They sent us to a local dermatologist who had never seen anything like it and did his best to treat.

In the meantime, our sweet baby looked like he had been in a car wreck. When we went out, mothers would pull their children away from our baby because he looked so terrible with his face full of open sores, as well as his arms and legs.

We prayed. Friends and family prayed. My grandparents even traveled from out of town to lay hands on him and pray. The situation felt desperate.

About that time we drove three hours away to visit my parents. We went to their church that Sunday. Of course, we couldn’t put our baby in the nursery. And, as usual, he cried. My husband carried him to the foyer to walk with him. He went between the outside doors and the inside doors to muffle the sound.

A lady walked in, looked at him, and stopped.  She looked at my husband and said, “Do you know what’s wrong with your baby?” He explained the situation and she said she had been so ill with severe eczema that she had become hopeless at one point. God showed her the way to her healing. She opened her Bible and told my husband to sit the baby on it. She prayed over him. Then she told my husband to start bathing him in Epsom salts and gave him some money. She said to go buy him a new outfit and to wash everything he had in a certain detergent and then left.

This all took place in the middle of service. When my husband told my parents about her, they had no idea who she was. They even asked around the church, but an identity couldn’t be found.

We had been referred to Children’s Hospital, but were waiting for our appointment as it was hard to get in. In the meantime, we did everything the lady told my husband to do. By the time our appointment came, we had to take pictures with us so they could see what had been wrong with him. He had been healed.

Now, there will be those who will say it was coincidental. However, the Bible says, “For He will give His angels charge concerning you, to guard you in all your ways.” We have never questioned that this woman was our angel.

The point is, God sees you. He knows everything you need from the smallest to the biggest of problems. He knows every detail. He is real and He is ready and willing to help you. Whether He touches you in a miraculous way, through an angel, through a doctor, through counseling, or through a friend He sees your need and He has the answer waiting for you. Seek Him with all your heart. Hold on to His promises. Jehovah Jireh, The LORD will provide.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “An Angel for Our “Angel”

  1. Sarah

    Gave me chills and tears!!!

    Like

    • You know, you never want to go through a trial. However, if we didn’t have trials, we would never have the testimony. God has been so good to my family, over and over. He is faithful. Love ya, Sarah.

      Like

  2. Julie Anderson

    Beautifully written Lisa. Made me tear up!! God has been so good to our babies!! Love you!!

    Like

  3. Kathy

    Just knowing you is testimony of His goodness! Blessings sweet Lisa.

    Like

  4. depthseeker

    Lisa, that is amazing! Made me think of the Bible story when a man was told to go dip in the river 7 times to he healed. I’ve seen Garrett as a grown, young man. What a testimony of God’s grace and miraculous healing!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

