Anger Grief and Forgiveness

I promised some friends that I would blog on anger. You see, I have been dealing with some anger. I’ve been trying to process it and figure out what I’m supposed to do with it as a follower of Christ.

I don’t believe that anger is sinful. There are things that happen in this life that justify anger. And, I believe that I have been justified in my anger.

The problem is…and I’m just keeping it real here…I have not wanted to let go of my anger. I have wanted to hold on to it. I’ve wanted to let it just sit in me and kind of “be there” for a while. It has kind of felt like my friend, in a way. As long as I let the anger stay, I don’t have to move on to what I know is waiting for me.

Grief.

And, once the grief subsides, I’ll have to forgive.

Guess what. I haven’t wanted to forgive. It’s true. Again. I’m just being transparent.

So, the last day or so I have contemplated the fact that I must let go of the anger. It has to go for my well-being, the well-being of my family, and because that is what God’s Word tells me I must do.

I’ve dealt with some of the grief. I have sobbed. I have shed the quiet hot tears that slowly stream. I have questioned.

A few things have been learned:

I have a wonderful beautiful family. Not just my little family, but my extended family. We have become closer than ever before.

I have wonderful friends; friends who stand beside me and hold me up…without even knowing the details of my life.

I have sisters. God did not give me biological sisters, but I have some of the most beautiful ladies in my life because of the family of God.

Tonight I spent some time researching what God says about anger, grief and forgiveness. I want to share it with you.

Anger:

Ecclesiastes 7:9 ESV Be not quick in your spirit to become angry, for anger lodges in the heart of fools.

Psalm 145:8 ESV The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.

Colossians 3:8 ESV But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth.

Ephesians 4:26-27 ESV Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the devil.

Psalm 30:5 ESV For his anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.

Psalm 1038-9 ESV The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love. He will not always chide,
nor will he keep his anger forever.

Grief/Hurt:

Psalm 34:18 ESV The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.

Psalm 73:26 ESV My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

John 14:27 ESV Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

1 Peter 5:7 ESV …casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

Psalm 18:2 ESV The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Forgivenes (the hard part):

Matthew 6:14-15 ESV For if you forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you,  but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.

Colossians 3:13 ESV bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.

Ephesians 4:31-32 ESV Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. 32 Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

2 Corinthians 2:5-8 ESV Now if anyone has caused pain, he has caused it not to me, but in some measure—not to put it too severely—to all of you.  For such a one, this punishment by the majority is enough,  so you should rather turn to forgive and comfort him, or he may be overwhelmed by excessive sorrow.  So I beg you to reaffirm your love for him.

Galatians 6:1-2 ESV Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness. Keep watch on yourself, lest you too be tempted.  Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ

Love is:

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 ESV Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant  or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;  it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth.  Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

I hope you are still with me. I thought it was important to show what the Word says.

A great example of someone who chose to forgive is Corrie Ten Boom. Talk about someone who had no reason to humanly forgive. She lived through evil. Consider this quote from her:

“Forgiveness is an act of the will, and the will can function regardless of the temperature of the heart.” -Corrie Ten Boom

My conclusion is this: I have no control over others. I only have control over myself. It is my choice whether I forgive or not. I cannot force repentance or change or even resolution. But, I can say, “I choose to forgive. I’m going to let this be “well” with my soul. I’m going to find joy and live in it.

Categories: Forgiveness, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Anger Grief and Forgiveness

  1. Delores Carr

    Thanks, love for the reminders.  Excellent.

     Mom Delores Carr

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. LilacJade50

    I see anger, wrath, malice, slander, grief, forgiveness and any other sin you can think of like a small weed. That can turn into a bush and from there into a tree with deep roots if not dealt with soon. Our hearts are the soil and throughout our life journey many things will be planted within. It is the same with dealing with weeds in a garden, If they are not dealt with at once. Then you could lose control of your beautiful garden. It is the same with our hearts of soil. In my trailer park sometimes they let the lawn go for awhile and these pretty little light blue flowers come up. Well, within a weeks time these flowers have invested the whole yard and nothing else can grow. As time passes these pretty little light blue flowers turn into a nasty smelly weeds. We might have every right to be anger for what someone did or said, or didn’t do and yes God’s word says, “Be angry and do not sin.” This is the key, but I was only reading part of the scripture to justify myself of not walking in sin with carrying around all the anger in my heart. But I was only reading part of the scripture. The anger in my heart was fine at first, yet I began to stew with it. I began to cultivate the soil, so it began to grow and seep into other areas of my life and become contagious with who ever was around me. Because of that the root of anger grew deep into my heart of soil and only God could release me from it. Yet for me to be released from the root of anger, I had to forgive those that hurt me even though they did not deserve it or even wanted it, or even think they needed to be forgiven. But it wasn’t about their soil of their heart. It was about mine. In order to have peace, joy, and happiness in my life, I had to let Jesus cultivate the soil of my heart and forgive. When applying God’s word to your problems, don’t just use part of the scripture, but use the entire word of God on the subject. Ephesians 4:26-27 Be angry and do not sin, do not let the sun go down on your anger, and give no opportunity to the devil.

    Like

  3. This was beautiful. I too, have shed the hot tears at night and have wanted to keep my anger and not let go. I needed this. Thank you. I don’t have a biological sister, but like you, I have some dear friends who are sisters in Christ. I couldn’t have asked for better ones. 🙂

    Like

  4. This is so beautiful! Thank you for this wonderful reminder! Love and blessings!

    Like

  5. I remember writing this. It was healing to “talk” out my feelings. The real healing came, however, in researching what God had to say to me through His Word. Hugs.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

