Protect the Cooler

Camping is an activity that I have never enjoyed. For me, camping is a night at the Comfort Inn or perhaps a night in a cabin at the lake. Although, the cabin camping may be out forever for me because the last time I did that, we got bed bugs. YIKES!

Anyway, my oldest son loves to camp. I mean, I think he would go every week if he had the time and the money. He makes lists of what he is going to take. He goes shopping for food and supplies. I wouldn’t be surprised if he dreams about camping. Camping makes him happy. And, while he could never study or prepare for school, he definitely puts time and effort into his camping trips.

Monday morning as I left for work, I walked through my living room. The room was full of camping gear neatly stacked and ready to go. I heard his alarm go off at a very early and very dark 5:30 a.m. (On a normal day it would have been 10:00 or 11:00, but for camping he can get up in the middle of the night.)

It makes me smile: Partly because it’s just so cute, and partly because it gives me hope that one day he will be neat and orderly (because to look at his room most days…well…I just don’t look!)

So, off he went for a two-day camping trip.

This morning my husband talked to him. We usually check in on him once a day or so. (He’s an adult, but still our baby, you know?) Here is the story my husband was told:

“Last night I woke up when I heard the cooler shut. I got up and looked out of the tent and there was a raccoon stealing my back straps! (backstraps are one of Garrett’s favorite foods) I chased after the raccoon, who took off in a frantic run.  I was too sleepy and disoriented to catch up and the raccoon got away.”

(I’m not sure what he thought he was going to do if he had caught up with it! …ask for the meat back? And then what, eat it?)

He was so disappointed! All that planning and their food was stolen! The thing is, if he had just thought of one more thing…if he had strapped the cooler shut…nothing could have been stolen…at least not by an animal.

Life can be like my son’s camping trip if we aren’t careful. We can plan and study and prepare; we can do everything we think we need to do to be ready for what life throws our way. But, if we fail to tie it all together with the bonds that God offers, it may all be stolen from us. The enemy will try to steal our lives from us by opening us up and taking all our plans if we let our defenses down. We must bind our plans with the protection of God’s Word, Prayer, and Praise.

While life may still pull and tug at us, if we have God’s ribbon of love around us, if God’s Word is our constant protector, our hearts will be closed to the thief and open to our Heavenly Father.

2 Thessalonians 3:3 ESV  But the Lord is faithful. He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.

Isaiah 54:17 ESV  “no weapon that is fashioned against you shall succeed, and you shall refute every tongue that rises against you in judgment.This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord and their vindication from me, declares the Lord.”

 

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Protect the Cooler

  1. That is ADORABLE!!!!!!!! Now, about the camping…I LOVE CAMPING!!!!! But I agree that a cabin is better than a tent…

    Like

  2. A great analogy Lisa…
    I like how you connected the cooler to our lives and you are so right. If we are not aware, if we take for granted we have been given we will lose those precious things God has given us. His plan is always to bless us and He doesn’t want us to be ignorant to the wiles of the enemy! A really great post!

    Rolain

    Like

  3. I realised i left a line out in the beginning. I wanted to say,
    If we take what God has given us for granted…

    Thats what i was meant to say! 🙂

    Rolain

    Like

  4. I love the comparison! Very nice post.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

