Plugged. Unplugged. Wait, What?

True to my word, I’m going to continue to write periodically about my experience with OCD. Today seems like a good day for that.

Yesterday I was getting ready to leave for work. I had actually used my curling iron (that doesn’t happen too often anymore). I was running a little behind, so I quickly unplugged the iron, turned off the light, and headed out of the room. As I did, I stopped and thought, “Hmm. Maybe I should make sure that really unplugged.”

I turned the light back on and checked the outlet again.

Yup. All clear. I was free to proceed.

As I left, the memory of how that would have gone in the past struck me. Let’s go back about two years.

Two years ago, it would have gone something like this:

I unplugged the curling iron and started to head out of the bedroom. “Maybe that didn’t really unplug.” I turned the light back on. I could see that it was unplugged. However, that wasn’t enough. I had to walk over and touch the empty outlet. I turned out the light.Then I turned the light on again and had to touch the outlet AGAIN. Okay, I turned the light back off and walked all the way to the garage door. Yet, I couldn’t leave until I went back in the bedroom once more, turned on the light, looked at the outlet, felt the end of the cord, and touched the empty outlet. Finally, I felt released to go. 

Wow! That was a lot of work to unplug something, huh?

For those of you who have never struggled with OCD, this probably seems absolutely ridiculous.

For those of you who have struggled with it, you’re probably saying, “I totally GET that!”

If you suffer from OCD, or something similar, let me encourage you to seek some help. Find a doctor you can trust. Make sure you have a family member or friend who loves you enough to allow you to share with them the things you are going through. I went years without doing either of those things.

So much wasted time. So, much happiness lost.

And, pray, pray, pray.

God knows you and He wants you to be whole, happy, and healthy. He has not given us life only to be prisoners to ourselves.

Hugs! Choose Joy. Choose Hope.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Plugged. Unplugged. Wait, What?

  1. whenwemumble

    I had the same OCD as I’m sure is a lot more common then we’d like to think! I started taking a picture of my empty outlet to remind myself throughout the day but I’m free from that burden now, the less anxiety the better!

    Like

    • I wish I had thought of that! I don’t deal with OCD too much anymore. Occasionally it rears it’s ugly head at me. But, I’ve been learning ways to control it, instead of it controlling me! Thanks for your comments. I followed you. I’m not in my 20’s, but I certainly can remember those days! Hugs!

      Like

      • whenwemumble

        Exactly! I have a post on OCD as well you may be interested in as well, I’ve decided to theme my blogs for 20-somethigns but I’ve been so happy to hear others can relate. Excited to read more from you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I read “about you” and I have to say I agree. WAY too much pressure on teens and 20’s. Such a hard time of life. Too many “older” adults forget all of the pressure that comes with that age. (We just think we want to be young again. LOL). Not that I wouldn’t mind LOOKING young. 🙂 Thanks,agin.

        Like

  2. Sarah

    I’ve got a smidgin’ of OCD as you know Lisa…I don’t check things as many times as you would but I will check things twice like making sure the doors are locked or the garage door shuts. My biggest issue is if I leave one of my kids with BJ or mom (I don’t leave them with anyone else and rarely leave them at all) and I get to the place I’m going I alway have to double check their seats and still worry once I go in that I just thought or “dreamed” that I left them with one of them and I’ve really left them in the car or in the store once I get back to the car!!! :/
    ~Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi my sweet Sister. I miss you so much! I thought of you Monday night as I put the toilet paper in the closet…can you tell me why that would happen? LOL. Sweet Girl, I don’t want you to deal with theses things. Don’t let it take control of you. Love you.

      Like

  3. depthseeker

    Reblogged this on cupofwhimsicallife.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

