My Soul Thirsts

Image

This is from the devotion I wrote for my book club yesterday. I felt I should share it with you:

I’d like to share some bits and pieces of Psalm 42 with you. While I was working in the kitchen I began to hum. I’ve never really been a hummer before. But, this year I’ve begun humming…not on purpose. It just happened. I’m not sure if it’s old age or joy or both…but, nevertheless, I hum. Tonight I found myself humming this verse. I decided perhaps God wanted me to share it. So, I hope this speaks to someone. (Be thankful you don’t have to hear the humming. 🙂 )

Psalm 42:1-2 ESV
1As a deer pants for flowing streams,
so pants my soul for you, O God.
2 My soul thirsts for God,
for the living God…

…3 My tears have been my food
day and night…

…5 Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation 6 and my God.
My soul is cast down within me;
therefore I remember you…

…8 By day the LORD commands his steadfast love,
and at night his song is with me,
a prayer to the God of my life…

…11 Why are you cast down, O my soul,
and why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise him,
my salvation and my God.

 

(If you are interested in Amish or Plain books, foods, lifestyles, etc Check out the Whoopie Pie Book Club on Facebook)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My Soul Thirsts

  1. Dali Castillo

    One of the many of my favorite Psalms. So many times I say some of these verses as I pray, meditate, or am going through a difficult situation. Thanks for sharing, Lisa.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

