What Does Twenty-Five Years Look Like-A Tribute to Our Marriage

984039_257050954465725_2102939064_n

Well, really, it goes back further than that. I was 14 years old when I met my husband. He asked me to marry him when I was 15. Of course, at the time, I think it was just a way of getting a kiss from me. But, I said, “yes” enjoying the little fantasy.

Five years later, I found myself walking down the aisle, looking into his brown eyes, hopeful for a future together. We were anxious to get started on our journey; I was amazed that I was fortunate enough to marry my high school sweet-heart.

Looking at the pictures, I realize now we were technically adults, yet we were still children. We had no idea what “life” really meant.

Another five years later we brought our first son into our family. He has been a joy. He is a near duplicate of his dad: hard-working, strong, intelligent, and loyal. He is a deep thinker. When his words are offered, you know there has been much thought beforehand.

Two years later we lost two babies. The heart-break was deep, but the next year God gifted us with our second son. I refer to him as my sunshine because he is always chatty, full of ideas, compassionate, and passionate. He can always make me laugh and his eyes literally light up a room.

Through the years we have walked mountains and valleys together. We have held each other through the good and the bad. There have been giggles and tears, passion and anger. There have been times we haven’t liked each other much, but, never a time that we didn’t love each other.

Sometimes I look at him and still see that skinny cute boy in his Levi jeans and his sweet smile looking at me from across the hall. He still makes my heart flutter when he tells me I am pretty. He still makes me feel like I am special; a gift.

I dreamed of growing old with him. And, I guess we are on our way.

What does 25 years look like? It looks like for better or for worse. It looks like in sickness and in health. It looks like in good times and in bad. It looks like the choice to LOVE.

I love you, John, forever and for always.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

