Reality of Fear

It was a hot summer night and my friend and I were still too young to drive. But, her friends all drove and we crammed into one of their cars for a drive through the woods. We were staying at the lake and decided to go on a little adventure. As we drove, the tree frogs were making their spooky, yet somehow comforting, sounds. We were laughing, the music was blaring…good times.

Suddenly, the car stopped. Looking forward we saw someone standing in the lane. As the lights illuminated him, my mind was screaming that something was terribly wrong. My skin felt prickly and I was overcome with the urgency to flee, but there was nowhere to go. He stood there with a club, (or was it an axe?), in his hand.

Despite our begging him to just drive away, the driver of our car decided to get out and see what was happening. As he got out, the man grabbed him and started beating him. My friend and I were terror-stricken. I felt light-headed; the scene in front of me seeming unreal. Another man came out from the woods toward the car. Climbing into the driver seat, my friend threw the car into reverse trying to escape the danger in which we were surrounded.

As she drove backwards, we were crying hysterically.

And, then, the laughter began.

Confusion set in.

The boys were all laughing. What was happening? They explained it was a prank. A joke.

I didn’t smile. I didn’t laugh along. I was utterly traumatized. It was literally years before I was comfortable in or near the woods.

You see, what happened to me was not real. But my mind believed I was truly in danger and it set in to protect me.

FEAR. Fear is a powerful thing. It can overcome us. It can rule us. It can become our master. Many times things are not what they seem. But, we allow our mind to take over growing something small into a monster. Perhaps the fear isn’t even valid, we just think it is, and we become anxious, sleep-deprived and even sick worrying and fretting over something that may never take place.

Let’s keep our eyes focused on Christ; on His promises. What does His Word say about the truth? Don’t let Satan laugh at you as he deceives you. Let the Lord of Peace be your ruler.

Isaiah 41:10 So do not fear, for I am with you;do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you;I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Deuteronomy 21:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.ā€

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Psalm 29:11 The Lord gives strength to his people;the Lord blesses his people with peace.

2 Timothy 1:7 For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Reality of Fear

  1. Lisa!!!!

    I loved this post really….!!!! Questions arise as I read your post.
    – Could the fears I have be a ploy of the enemy to paralyze me?
    – Are there fears in my life I have succumbed to and still do?

    Things may not be what they seem!! ( a statement of hope for me)
    Things may not be what they seem. Hmmmm

    Thanks again Lisa for this incredible post. Thank you for sharing the truth!!

    Rolain

    Like

  2. garrettfam5

    Sorry but I would have to hurt someone that did that! I hope you got them back somehow.

    Like

  3. garrettfam5

    I have a bad habit of writing my first reaction! Of course the object of the story is to understand that Satan tries to scare us and we need to be equipped with the Truth in order to combat his deceit. Thanks for the reminder to stay in His Word.

    Like

  4. Great example of our fear can affect us. Something I wrote about today as well.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

