Because…I said so…

 

“Because I said so.”

How many times have you heard this phrase growing up? It tends to leave you with a negative feeling, doesn’t it?

What if we were to use that statement in a positive sense? What if we used it for uplifting self-talk?

What if instead of saying, “This is going to be a terrible day”, we said, “This will be a blessed day because I said so.”?

What if instead of saying, “We will never get along”, we said, “We will find a way to get along because I said so.”?

What if instead of saying, “We will never get out of debt”, we said, “We will find a way to get out of debt because I said so.”?

What if instead of saying, “I will never be healthy”, you said, “I will overcome this because I said so.”?

I believe that the Bible shows us not only how to self-talk, but that we should self-talk.

Psalm 107:1-2 AMP  O give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; for His mercy and loving-kindness endure forever! Let the redeemed of the Lord say so, whom He has delivered from the hand of the adversary,

And verse 8  Oh, that men would praise [and confess to] the Lord for His goodness and loving-kindness and His wonderful works to the children of men!


 

Guess what? God also speaks to us and says, “Because I said so.” I don’t know about you, but God telling me something is going to take place, well, that is powerful!

So, replace the self-talk with God-talk for the ultimate authority in your life.

What if instead of saying, “This is going to be a terrible day”, God said, When you pass through the waters, I will be with you, and through the rivers, they will not overwhelm you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned or scorched, nor will the flame kindle upon you. Isaiah 43:2 AMP

What if instead of saying, “We will never get along”, God said, For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. Galatians 5:13 ESV

What if instead of saying, “We will never get out of debt”, God said, “And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19 ESV

What if instead of saying, “I will never be healthy”, God said, “I have seen his ways, but I will heal him;  I will lead him and restore comfort to him and his mourners, creating the fruit of the lips. Peace, peace, to the far and to the near,” says the Lord, “and I will heal him” Isaiah 57:18-19 ESV


 

 

Make it a positive and God filled life.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

