Attack Of The Mouse

I do not like mice.

At. All.

They are sneaky, dirty, and just plain icky. They also seem to be unavoidable.

My son and I used to stay up some nights and watch a little television together. One night, after watching a favorite show, we headed back to get ready for bed. As we approached the end of the hall, I heard, “Mom. A mouse!” I looked, and sure enough, there came a mouse running down the hallway headed directly for us.

I squealed and we both scurried into the bathroom and shut the door. Great. We were trapped. I stood on the bathtub in case the disgusting creature decided to come under the door and join us. I told my son to look out the door. He looked at me, raised his eyebrows, and crinkled his forehead as if to say, “No can do.”

Calling for my husband, I realized he was obviously blissfully asleep. We began pounding on the door. No response. We pounded on the wall. Again, no response. Eventually I had to be the grown-up and open the door. I had to face my fears.

In my mind I know my actions were ridiculous that night. I mean, how much bigger and stronger am I than a mouse? It really had no power over me in the natural, but, yet, I allowed it to control me.

I’m so thankful that it’s the same with my daily life. Sometimes my anxieties get a hold of me. God reminds me that He is so much bigger than any doubt or fear. When I let God handle my problems, they suddenly diminish in their size and strength. Compared to God, they are just insignificant pests.

Joshua 1:9 KJV Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Attack Of The Mouse

  1. I’m the same way. I too hate mice, as well as spiders, centipedes, etc. I can handle little spiders and Daddy long-legs, but anything else creeps me out! And I do realize that I am way bigger and stronger than them (as my Dad is always telling me), but I still hate them. Ugh!

    But, I shouldn’t let them or my fear of them control and grip me. God did not give me a spirit of fear, and I don’t think He’d be too offended at me squishing one of those creatures. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

