Catching Joy

10510266_10152488203633744_550371762_n

It was almost completely dark as we drove home. There, in the field, I saw a flicker. It was there, and then it was gone.

Again.

Flicker.

Gone.

I smiled and sighed. It’s lightning bug time again.

Just as the thought crossed my mind, my husband spoke up, “Lightening bugs are so much fun. It’s amazing how such a short period of time each year can evoke such strong memories, isn’t it?”

We both became quiet, our lips curling up into grins. I thought of barefoot hunts in the yard, giggling as I captured the little shining bugs. I would place them in a glass jar (with holes punched in the lid for air) and fall asleep with their soft dancing glow filling my room.

Sometimes, the smallest things bring us the greatest joy. I wonder what our lives would be if each day we looked for the little joys. I wonder–what life would be if each day we found joy in even the smallest of God’s creations.

You make known to me the path of life;  you will fill me with joy in your presence,with eternal pleasures at your right hand. Psalm 16:11 NIV

(Picture by Laurie of my cute little cousin, Lillian)

 

 

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

