My Forgiveness Hero

1601034_256942537809900_1120038222_n

Forgiveness.

Wow. That is a heavy word, packed with so many emotions.

There are several heroes in my life. One of them is my brother. He set the bar, the standard, to which I hold everyone else up to when it comes to forgiveness.

You see, my brother has been through many trials. Some were self-inflicted, others just happened. There came a day when he decided to make a life change. Once he made the decision, there was no going back. Do you know what he did? He called or met every person he thought he might have hurt along his journey, and apologized. Not only did he say he was sorry, but he stated what he had done and asked to be forgiven.

He said, “I am sorry for _____. Will you forgive me?”

It was a very humbling thing, to have a person come to me in a such a vulnerable manner. I can’t tell you how I admire him for what he did during that time. He became a man in my eyes.

There is freedom in forgiveness for both the offender and the recipient.

Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working. James 5:16 ESV

 

Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you. Ephesians 4:32 ESV

 

For if you forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you, but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses. Matthew 6:14-15 ESV

 

Categories: Forgiveness | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “My Forgiveness Hero

  1. Tammy

    I needed to hear this. I have been struggling to forgive someone who has deeply hurt me. This person has not asked me to forgive them and probably never will. It is up to me to do the right thing.

    Like

    • I told someone I love recently, who is dealing with un-forgiveness, that by not forgiving the person, she is allowing them to control her. I am thankful that my brother allowed himself the freedom to ask for and accept my forgiveness. But, had he never asked for it, it would still have been my responsibility to forgive him in my own heart. We cannot control the actions of others, only our own actions and reactions. It may be that you will have to forgive your person over and over. But, if you allow God to help you, He will show you the way to forgiveness. After all, He is the Master. 🙂 Hugs.

      Like

  2. Hi Lisa
    Your brother did an honourable thing….what a great example for all of us to follow! Thank you for sharing what he did with us. God bless…..
    Rolain

    Like

    • Rolain! HI!

      Confession and/or asking for forgiveness is NOT the easy road.

      Then again, granting forgiveness can also be very difficult at times, yes?

      Yet, all of these are things we are told we must do.

      Like

  3. Julie Anderson

    This story reminds me of a similar story. My mom was doing yard work last summer and a car pulled up and asked her if she was Barbara. My mom replied yes. He introduced himself as “Brad”; a neighborhood child that had bullied myself, my brother and the entire neighborhood over 30 years ago. He was in town for a high school reunion and wanted to come back to the street he grew up on and apologize for his childhood behavior. He explained his circumstances growing up to my mom and some situations he had dealt with growing up. I thought it was wonderful and humbling of him to do this after all that time had passed. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

