Noise noun 1. sound, especially of a loud, harsh, or confused kind:

Sitting in the quite of my house I feel comforted by the sound of nothing. Sometimes I just want to “be”. I want to be able to hear my thoughts; to hear God’s voice. I can’t hear His voice with other voices coming at me from televisions, radios, phones, computers—people.

Anymore it’s a constant barrage of voices telling me what to wear, think, eat, say, don’t say…It’s just noise. Sometimes I think I’m too used to the racket, because when I don’t have it, my ears seem to scream at me in the silence. I’ve been sitting here trying to hear God. But, for two or three days it’s just seemed to be empty space surrounding me.

Yes, I know God is here. I know He has something important for me to receive. Maybe He is trying to teach me to just wait.

To be still.

To practice quietness.

Maybe He is whispering to me and there is still so much noise in my head that I can’t tune in enough to hear Him. I can feel my anticipation rising. I hope He reveals His plans for me sooner, rather than later. But, if not, I will stay preparing my heart, tuning out the chaos of this world—waiting.

Isaiah 30:18 AMP And therefore the Lord [earnestly] waits [expecting, looking, and longing] to be gracious to you; and therefore He lifts Himself up, that He may have mercy on you and show loving-kindness to you. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are all those who [earnestly] wait for Him, who expect and look and long for Him [for His victory, His favor, His love, His peace, His joy, and His matchless, unbroken companionship]!

 

Categories: Time with God | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Noise noun 1. sound, especially of a loud, harsh, or confused kind:

  1. Dali Castillo

    This came at a most appropriate time. I have been struggling with being still and listening for God’s voice and direction for a few days already. Not the easiest place to be, but I’m just waiting, praying, and trusting Him. Thanks for sharing this, Lisa. I’ll be praying for you!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

