Closed doors, sailed ships, and other myths…

Wonderful blog by my friend, Marilyn. Closed doors? Missed opportunities? Build your own ship.

luceleaf journal

20140808_145219

     For most of my life, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with process. It took me a long time to realize that process doesn’t equal failure. I used to think that if something didn’t come easily to me, as many things did when I was younger, then I must not be good at it. I didn’t understand the difference between having a natural aptitude for something and having the ability to acquire and cultivate a skill. As a result, for many years, I saw failure as a finite thing, and I also began to equate missed opportunities with failure, because I thought opportunity, also, was a finite thing. “The chance only comes around once in a lifetime.” “That ship has sailed,” etc. etc.

     I would look back on my life and see certain moments where an open door had been slammed shut, and I would wonder, what if it…

View original post 855 more words

Categories: Encouragement | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Closed doors, sailed ships, and other myths…

  1. Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

