Jonah

Jonah.

The whale.

Brings back memories of Sunday school. But, I have been studying the book this week and I was struck by this verse. It takes place after Jonah repented and went to Nineveh where the people repented and turned to God.

Jonah 4:1-2 AMP But it displeased Jonah exceedingly and he was very angry. And he prayed to the Lord and said, I pray You, O Lord, is not this just what I said when I was still in my country? That is why I fled to Tarshish, for I knew that You are a gracious God and merciful, slow to anger and of great kindness, and [when sinners turn to You and meet Your conditions] You revoke the [sentence of] evil against them.

Do you get what Jonah is saying here? He didn’t want to preach repentance to Nineveh because he knew if the people heeded his warnings, God would forgive them. In other words, he didn’t want God to show his grace on these evil people.

It makes me think, are there people in my life that I would rather God punish than forgive? Are there people in my life that I am unwilling to forgive? Are there people we are unwilling to pray for because we are afraid of what God might actually do for them?

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

If you’d like to read more of my daily devotions, join my new Facebook group, The Loving Eye https://www.facebook.com/groups/1464351080500843/

Categories: Forgiveness | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

