Shaving Legs and God’s Will

10904295_10203104702129144_2077231315_n

Girls. Remember when you couldn’t wait to shave your legs? (I feel eyes rolling out there)

For some reason little girls dream of the day they can shave. I was no exception. At ten or eleven I told my mom that I “really, really, really, really needed to shave my legs”. Lucky for me, (I though it was luck at the time) her mom had denied her the pleasure (which later turned to misery) of shaving.

Mom was mortified as a girl because of the thick black hair that grew on her legs. But, her mom would not relent. So, she made the decision that when her daughter asked to shave, she would say, “yes”. And, she followed through with that decision. She got me a razor and explained that it would be something I would have to do the rest of my life. My heart picked up its cadence as she placed the razor in my hand.

As she shut the door, I started the water, stepped in the tub, and closed the plastic curtain. Once I lathered, I tried to slide the razor up my leg. But, rather than gliding effortlessly, it seemed to kind-of “catch” on each hair. I continued up my leg. Sticking it into the water to rinse, an amazing stinging sensation attacked me. I grabbed my leg, squeezing it in an attempt to alleviate the pain. A red stream of blood began to flow down my leg and into the drain.

Raise your hand if you’ve been there!

It was awful. I hated it! It wasn’t wonderful like I had dreamed. Rather, it was painful and instead of hairy legs, I was left with red bumpy legs.

***Dislike***

My mom knew I wasn’t going to like it. She knew I was starting too early on a lifelong task. She knew I would likely have discomfort–even pain. But, she let me anyway. She chose to let me learn on my own.

God is that way too. Can you see that? Sometimes we beg for things because we just know how perfect they will be, “Please, God. Please. PAHleeeeaaassse. I need this!” I can imagine God shaking His head because He knows better. He can see the end result. But, sometimes He gives us what we ask for because He knows that is the only way we will learn. We will then run to Him afterwards and say, “Hey! That hurt! Why did you let me do that?!”

Often what we think we need, we do not. God knows this. But, if He always prevented us from making mistakes, would we ever learn that we need to rely on Him? Instead of a constant string of “gimmie, gimmies” we need to learn to ask, “What is Your will, Father, because You know best.”


Psalm 16:7The Message (MSG)

7-8 The wise counsel God gives when I’m awake
is confirmed by my sleeping heart.
Day and night I’ll stick with God;
I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Shaving Legs and God’s Will

  1. Oh I remember!! My mom bought me my own razor in the grocery store and gave it to me, after weeks of begging. What a thrill? You are so right, things aren’t always what they seem!! I try to live with gratitude for the good things I have in my life with hopes that the blessings will continue to show up. Great post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I still have scars on my shins! I think that could work into your analogy just fine!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

