Spiritual Lessons from My Puppy

10850055_352866754884144_201622099042265256_n

Scratch, scratch, scratch.

Snort.

Scratch, scratch, scratch.

I open one eye. It’s barely light in my room.  I close my eye.

Whimper.

Pushing back my covers, I sit up and slide my legs off the bed. Once I stand up and head for the door, I feel little puffs of breath on my heels. Our six footsteps pad down the hall as he moves ahead of me.

We enter the dark cold living room and my puppy jumps up onto the couch quickly curling himself into a comfy ball on his blanket.

No. Way. Not happening.

I open the door, “Come on. Let’s go outside,” I whisper in my sweetest Mommy voice.

No movement.

Marching back in, I pick him up, plop him on the patio, and whisper, harshly  now, “Go. Potty!”

He looks up at me with his cute puppy dog eyes and I counter his cuteness with a finger pointed toward the yard.

As I look up, the glow of the sky catches my attention–the most magnificent sunrise I’ve seen in quite some time. Sherbet oranges and cotton candy pinks fill the sky with popcorn puffs of white clouds mixed in. Gorgeous. And, to think I almost missed this.

Hmmm.

Kind of like life, isn’t it? God nudges us to get up and get moving. He has something for us to see–something for us to do. We kind of open one eye and say, “You know, I’m pretty comfortable where I am, God. I think I’ll just stay right here.” He pushes us a little harder, maybe even with a little pain. We grump and gripe, complaining and refuse to go. He picks us up and puts us where he wants us to be and suddenly–when we get over ourselves–we realize He has placed us in the most perfect, rewarding, and unimaginable place.

Don’t miss out on something beautiful. Listen to His voice. Move when He nudges.

Hugs. ❤

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Spiritual Lessons from My Puppy

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Food for Thought: Spiritual Lessons from My Puppy by Lisa Bull | Sarah Price | Amish Author

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

