Keep on Moving

10978627_381720798665406_7678576877171474377_n

The other day, my husband and I went shopping for our puppy. We bought him his first rawhide. We thought it would be the perfect gift because he loves to chew.

–He chews on everything: Shoes, Pillows, Toilet Paper Rolls, Carpet, Sticks, Tissue Paper, Dryer Sheets, Stools–

So–Rawhide! Perfect! 

We brought it home and placed it on the floor. He did his typical puppy dance around it. He pranced. He hopped. He rolled over it on his back. Finally, he took it in his mouth–and then panic struck. His eyes literally filled with anxiety. He was frozen in place and began crying. Looking around the room, he frantically tried to find someplace to hide his prize. If he caught us watching, he would pick it back up and look for someplace new. This went on for about an hour.

Here we thought he would be excited and happy. We gave him something he wanted. A tasty item to chew on–legally–it was his to enjoy. But, instead, it caused him turmoil because he was so afraid it was going to be taken away.

Of course, this got me to thinking. We aren’t much different, are we? How many times do we pray for a new job, or new friends, or a new direction? We pray and pray and pray. Finally, God answers! He gives us our hearts desire. We got the promotion! We have an opportunity to be in a new group of people! We have been asked to step into a new place of ministry! What do we do?

FREEZE.

Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. “God. I mean. I know I asked for it. But, I’m not sure I can handle that job. I’m not really qualified.” “Hey, God. I wanted new friends…but those people…they are so different from me. What if they hate me? Or–what if I don’t like them?” “Uh. God. I know I asked for a place a ministry. But, um, this isn’t what I had in mind. I mean, can we try again with something other than this?”

Right? Hear me? Feel me?

God has answered our prayer! He has given us our desire! And we panic! Anxiety sets in. Doubt takes hold.

Don’t be surprised when God answers your prayers. The Word says:

Just ask and it will be given to you; seek after it and you will find. Continue to knock and the door will be opened for you. All who ask receive. Those who seek, find what they seek. And he who knocks, will have the door opened. Matthew 7:7-8 (VOICE) 

God wants to give us our hearts desires. He isn’t going to give us something that is out of His will and purpose for our lives. So, when the door is opened, keep moving. Step in to what He has in store for you!

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

