Yah, I was Martha–What a Waste

Jesus continued from there toward Jerusalem and came to another village. Martha, a resident of that village, welcomed Jesus into her home. Her sister, Mary, went and sat at Jesus’ feet, listening to Him teach. Meanwhile Martha was anxious about all the hospitality arrangements.

Martha (interrupting Jesus): Lord, why don’t You care that my sister is leaving me to do all the work by myself? Tell her to get over here and help me.

Jesus: Oh Martha, Martha, you are so anxious and concerned about a million details, but really, only one thing matters. Mary has chosen that one thing, and I won’t take it away from her.

Luke 10:38-42 (Voice) 


I don’t have a sister. But, if I did, I would have been Martha in this story. So many times in my life the Lord could have (and probably did) said, “Lisa, Lisa, you are so anxious about anything and everything. And, yet, the One that matters is not at the forefront of your thoughts.” 

OUCH!

I wasted so much time. I lost so many years. I worried about everything. The what if’s consumed my life. I wanted everything perfect and in the process made myself and everyone around me miserable. If only I had learned earlier to just breathe—to sit at Jesus’ feet and lay my head in His lap—relaxing in His presence.

Only One thing really matters in this Life. Do you know Him? Do you love Him? Do you spend time with Him?

Slow down. Breathe. Soak up His love.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

