Not to Be a Wimp

Recently I had a friend use the word “courageous” to describe me. I had to laugh. If there is anything I am not, it’s courageous.

I am a complete wimp! I avoid confrontation at all costs.  I’m the one that does NOT ride roller coasters…zip line…sing in public…eat at a restaurant alone…get the picture?

She said what she was referring to was a willingness to step out and follow God’s leading. THAT I will do.

I was raised to believe that if you follow God’s leading, your life will bring you peace. It may not be easy, but you can have peace knowing you are in the will of your Father. On the other hand, I was raised that ignoring God’s voice will bring discomfort, unhappiness, and distress.

She also told me that there are two types of courageous people: those that are courageous going into a situation, and those that find themselves in the midst of a situation and find courage in that place.

We all have different personalities and different “comfort zones”. God did that on purpose. But, REGARDLESS of what type of person you are, God has called you to be courageous; to stand strong in His will. When He lays something on your heart, follow His lead without fear and without discouragement.

Walk with courage knowing: HE WILL BE WITH YOU!

Joshua 1:9 NIV Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Not to Be a Wimp

  1. Love this~ ~Rita

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

