Meet my Friend, Lue!

Looking in the Rearview Mirror

Today I invited Lue Shetler from Looking in my Rear View Mirror to sit down and chat with me. I hope you enjoy our talk. Be sure to leave lots of questions for Lue in my comments section!


Lisa: Lue! Why don’t you tell everyone how we “met” each other.
     Lue: First of all, thank you for having me here today. How much fun this is! I hope to meet some of your friends and get to know them as well. Now, to answer your question, there is this group called the Whoopie Pie Book Club on Facebook. You commented on a few of my links I had shared and it seemed like we became fast and furious friends after that. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and your funny yet caring disposition.

Lisa: Did you just a call me, “funny”? I’ll take that as a compliment. 🙂 You were born into an Amish family. What is your funniest memory as a little girl?
     Lue: Well, let’s see. My brother and I spent a lot of time at my maternal grandparent’s house in the Summer. My uncle and his family lived there as well and his youngest daughter and I were the same age and got into trouble from time to time. The funniest memory I have stems from one of those visits. One day it rained and my cousin, Esta, and I, roughly four or five years old, decided we would go play in the mud puddles in the rugged and pot-hole filled lane going back to the big chicken houses on the farm. The puddles were huge and muddy and we were a little constrained with our long skirts on our dresses so we got innovative and tucked our skirts in our panties and we played to our heart’s content….until…..our grandmother found us out. Oh my goodness, she had a conniption, she stood there in the yard with her hands on her hips and yelled at us to get out of the mud and then made us come in the basement laundry room and she took the hose and a very bristly broom and washed us off, all the while scolding us for getting muddy and having our skirts tucked in our panties. I can still feel the bristles of that broom whisking over my skin. Whew! She was one hot grandma that day and we were not her favorite granddaughters for sure. It cracks me up today, but at that time it was not funny.

Lisa: Oh my goodness! That is such a cute story! Is Lue your real name or is it short for something?
     Lue: It is short for Luella. I shortened it when I began my career. The reason being that when you have to introduce yourself with a three syllable name folks tend to want to know the spelling, tell me how much they like it or that it sounds like something else and on and on. I love the short, one syllable and almost no need for explanations kind of name. Some folks can’t get used to the Lue spelling versus the more common Lou spelling. I don’t have an “o” in my name, so I don’t use it. I wish I had started writing it “Lu” though. Just because.

Lisa: If you could have picked your own name, what would it have been?
     Lue: Ellie. It is also a version of part of my real name and in some ways I wish I would have started using it rather than Lue.

Lisa: Ellie is sweet. But, Lue makes you more original, I think. What would you say you miss most about the Amish?
     Lue: Nothing. ha ha..that was quick! Well, to be more honest, I like the idea of being a stay at home wife. I miss being home. But to be even more honest, having a career helped save my life. I have lived a life of depression and having to get up and keep a routine has been one tool that has been helpful for me to keep the depression at bay.

Lisa: I can relate to that. So, what would you say you miss the least about the Amish?
    Lue: The rules and rituals of the church. I’ve come to understand that I have to have a relationship with God to know what His rules are versus obeying the often legalistic rules of the Amish church. When we left the Amish a former Amish couple mentored us and they encouraged us to “forget all we had learned from the Amish and start over using the Bible as our guideline.” It was difficult to learn how to do this without feeling intense guilt because guilt and shame were how we had learned to gauge right from wrong on many levels.Once we understood God’s love, grace and mercy for us it lent us much freedom and we have never looked back.

Lisa: What is one thing about you most people would never guess?
     Lue: Deep inside I am a perfectionist and there was a time in my life when I wouldn’t leave my home without every dish being in place, every pillow fluffed and bathroom sinks spotless. I’ve come a long way from those days. There is still a part of me that despises when I can’t do things “right.” If I have to give my home a “lick and a promise” kind of cleaning it doesn’t sit well with my soul and I would prefer not to clean at all and wait until I can do it “right.” I struggle with this when it comes to writing as well. I hate to stop mid-chapter and go to bed and have to pick up the next night or time I have a free moment. I’ve not figured out how to master this issue thus far.

 
Lisa: That leads me to my next question. You like to write. Is there anything we can look forward to in the future?
     Lue: Yes, I hope so. I am currently writing a biography. My Amish friend, Elizabeth, has quite a layered story and she has been so open and vulnerable and has been telling me her story. We are digging in, talking about some hard things, remembering things, and laughing a lot. We both have full time jobs and so it is slow going. I don’t have a book deal or a dead line so when the manuscript is finished I hope to shop it around, possibly find an agent who can advise me and help me get it in with a good publisher. Honestly, I don’t know the first thing about all that and keep praying and hoping that once it is finished that God will have prepared a path for me to follow to get it published. Life is an adventure every day. Whatever God’s will is and in his timing I believe things will happen as they should.

Lisa: Tell us about your blog and Facebook page. I love the name of it, by the way.
     Lue: Well, thank you my friend. The title, “Looking in My Rear View Mirror” seemed appropriate for me to use because so often when I look into my rear view mirror I see shadows of my past. An Amish buggy, an Amish walker, an Amish farm, and on and on. The title also symbolizes that I have moved forward in my life and that the Amish lifestyle is behind me. If you click on the link and look at the header I chose you will see both of those symbolism’s.
My website showcases two of my loves. 1. A blog for my words and 2. A gallery to showcase my favorite photos. I love business and I love Amish Country and so I feature local businesses and artisans and my own experiences on my blog. I invite anybody reading this to stop by and see what it is all about. I do regret to have to add that I absent-minded-ly deleted some of my photos and now a few of my blog posts are devoid of photos. One day I will have to fix that. Made me sick when I figured that out. Sigh.
Website: http://lookinginmyrearviewmirror.com/  I update as I am inspired, so you won’t get something every day or even every week, but there are some good articles there if you are interested in the Amish or Amish Country, Ohio and my life experiences.
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/LookingInMyRearviewMirror  I usually put something on my page about once a day. Lately I’ve been sharing a lot of videos because that is what gets the most activity over there. I don’t understand why, but it is what it is.
Facebook – Personal Wall: https://www.facebook.com/lue.shetler  This is my personal Facebook link and I am all “chatty” on my wall. I share things like my “Muddy Lane Saga” with my Amish friend or post a selfie of myself making those “duck lips.” I just like to have fun sometimes and always try to be positive because we have so much negativity out there in social media land. Folks seem to want to connect more with me on my wall than on my page, so that is what I am giving them. If you would like to be friends and be a part of the fun, send me a request. Would love to be your friend too.
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/lues/  I have a few boards where I only pin things that are my own creations. My words, my photos.
Instagram: https://instagram.com/lookinginmyrearviewmirror/  I love instagram. I post photos there as well.
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LueAmishMirror  This is my least favorite social media vehicle and I’ve not figured it out and I almost never post there or even go there. But, I HAVE an account! lol (Makes me feel so important….kidding!!)

Lisa: Okay. Some fun facts. What is your favorite snack?
     Lue: Kettle corn or cheese, depending on my mood, or a chocolate bar, wait a minute, it could be an apple and peanut butter too. Gah! I can’t choose. It depends on my mood.

Lisa: Coffee or tea?
     Lue: I love the smell and taste of coffee, but it doesn’t make me feel good, so I drink more tea (no sugar) than coffee.

Lisa: Cake or cookies? (pretend we’re not on diets)
     Lue: Cake. My favorite dessert to make and eat. Coconut cake…yum!

Lisa: Um. I. Love. Coconut cake. Favorite movie?
     Lue: She-Devil only because that woman was a survivor and she did it in a way that was comical yet effective. Pretty Woman is a close second, but She-Devil wins as favorite for the reasons cited.

Lisa: Favorite book genre?
     Lue: Not sure if I have a favorite. I do enjoy a good autobiography or biography. But then I can also while the day away in a historical romance novel.

Lisa: Summer or winter?
     Lue: Summer. Don’t even get me started on Winter.

Lisa: What country would you most like to visit?
     Lue: Italy. I want to see the Tuscan sun.

Lisa: What would your dream job be?
     Lue: Full time writer and paid freelance photographer.

Lisa: Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time visit with me. I wanted to share you with all of my friends. You are such a special person. I hope everyone will stop by to read your stories and view your pictures. Most of all, thank you for our friendship! ❤
Categories: Interviews | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Meet my Friend, Lue!

  1. Candy

    Nice interview. Hope you do another one sometime. She has so much to offer. I love talking with Lue and asking her all kinds of questions. She has inspired me with her photo taking. I now take photos of things that other people think are strange or not picture worthy. When driving down the highway i will see something and think “Lue would stop and take a picture of that.” Last fall she took my husband and I on a tour through the back highways of Amish country. What an education we got. Can’t wait to see her again in June.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

