Negative Virus

cold pic

Sniff. Sniff.

Achoo!

(Blows nose)

I walk in to my son’s room, “Are you sick?!”

Five days later (and many tissues, body aches, headaches, sore throats–)–

Cough. Cough.

Snort.

(Moans)

I look at my husband, “Now you?”

Oh boy–was it ever his turn. He got sick. Super sick.

Next my boss got it. From her it moved to my co-worker.

And.

Then.

Me.

It was the plague. The. Plague. It was horrible. Miserable. There was liquid literally leaking from every opening in my face.

It was (I was) ugly.

Somehow my oldest son and one of my co-workers avoided it. By some miracle, they remained healthy. I was happy for them and jealous (little j) of them all at the same time.


“I hate this job.”

“My boss knows nothing. I can’t stand her.”

“Look how she dresses. Does she even look in the mirror?”

“He thinks he is so great. I can’t stand him. What is his problem?”

“Why do we have to do this?. How dumb. It makes no sense. I’m not doing it.”

“She thinks she’s all that and more. Look how she walks around…”

Words. Negative words.

They spread just like a virus. Negativity is contagious and it goes from person to person like germs in a sneeze. (gross). It can start with one person’s unhappiness and before you know it, and entire group is infected with bitterness. And, just like a virus, very few escape its reach. It takes constant washing and cleansing of our minds and hearts to avoid being contaminated by other people’s trash.


What are some things we can do to stay positive in a negative environment?

Avoid gossip. If someone is spreading gossip, just remove yourself from the conversation. Gossip is hard to resist–but it is destructive.

Do not dwell on someone else’s negative thoughts. It’s easy to get caught up in someone else’s misery. Don’t own their unhappiness.

Concentrate on the good. Find beauty in others. Look for their positive qualities.

Pray. Pray. Pray. We need God’s help to keep our hearts and minds in line with Him.


Proverbs 26:20 (VOICE)

When there is no wood, the fire goes out; when there is no one to spread gossip, arguing stops.

Philippians 4:8 (VOICE)

Finally, brothers and sisters, fill your minds with beauty and truth. Meditate on whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is good, whatever is virtuous and praiseworthy.

1 Corinthians 15:33 (ESV)

Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.”

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (ESV)

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

