Right Now? I’m Angry–

Anger

Sometimes being angry is easier than being hurt and vulnerable. Sometimes I think I choose anger over hurt because it’s easier to deal with. I think I use anger as my shield of “protection”. It feels like anger keeps me from feeling the hurt so deeply. Because, I think, if I quit being angry, I may never stop crying over the hurt.

But, anger is a sneaky creature. It acts like it’s my friend. It pretends to protect me and wrap me in a cocoon of safety. When, in reality, it is digging deep into my soul, planting roots of bitterness, erupting sprouts of sickness and disease and dropping seeds of division.

Anger doesn’t protect me at all. Anger moves me toward self-destruction.

As I turn my anger toward God’s Word, searching for a cure, I find the answers. It’s still my choice to reach out for the antidote.

Philippians 4:8-9 (ESV)

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.  What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

Psalm 37:8-9 (TLB)

Stop your anger! Turn off your wrath. Don’t fret and worry—it only leads to harm.

Philippians 4:4-6 (TLB)

 Always be full of joy in the Lord; I say it again, rejoice!  Let everyone see that you are unselfish and considerate in all you do. Remember that the Lord is coming soon. Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything; tell God your needs, and don’t forget to thank him for his answers.

Anger only hurts me. It doesn’t change anyone else. It doesn’t keep anyone from hurting me more deeply. I’m going to choose to focus on what is good today. I’m going to make a choice to be who God wants me to be despite what anyone else says or does.

I’m going to CHOOSE JOY.

What about you?

 

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

