It’s Not the Title

cropped-dawn-nature-sunset-trees.jpeg

Coming from a family of ministers, missionaries, and wives of such there was~~um~~”pressure” to be in The Ministry. (Capitals on purpose)

From an early age, my cousin was clearly gifted in music and when we played, we didn’t play “school” we played “church”. He is a pastor today.

His sister always had a heart for others and a passion for Christ. Today she is a pastor’s wife, preacher, teacher, and prayer leader.

When I was a teenager, I just didn’t feel it. The Call. I tried to wish it upon myself. But, I never felt it. I think my parents prayed for it, and others in the family waited for it. However, IT never happened. I didn’t marry a pastor, preacher, missionary, or evangelist.

I felt like a failure–a disappointment–a let down to the family.

I didn’t carry on the family legacy. I broke the chain. I hadn’t followed The Call. I wasn’t in The Ministry.

Eventually, my husband and I had two boys and soon it began—the pressure on us to push our boys toward The Ministry. At first it was questions directed at me or at my husband regarding the boys. But, as they grew, the questions started going to them, “What do you want to do? Have you thought of The Ministry? No? A landscaper? Oh. Well. You might still change your mind.”

SCREEEEEECCCCCHHHH! Whoa. Whoa. Whoa. Just. Whoa. Whoa.

Let’s just STOP.

Look. I have nothing against The Ministry! I love and adore my family and the great things God is doing through them! It’s amazing. I am so proud of how they allow God to use them!

But. Hang on.

What about the day my son saw a homeless couple sleeping behind a building and walked up and gave them money? Later another person came by on a bike and explained to my son the dire situation they were in.

What about the day he was on his way to Prom in the pouring rain? As he drove by an elderly lady trying to pull her trash dumpster, he pulled over, in his tux, and moved it for her. She was so moved by it she called my husband to tell him.

The Ministry? Yes, my boys are in the ministry. I am in the ministry. My husband is in the ministry. Every. Day. Every day those who love and follow Christ are to reach out to the people around them. Mark 12:30-31 ESV “And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.”

God doesn’t hold someone in higher regard than another person because they are ordained or because they wear a collar. He looks to the heart. It’s not the occupation. It’s not the title. It’s not the diploma.

It’s the heart. ONLY the heart.

1 Samuel 16:7(ESV) But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the LORD sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the heart.”

I just want to encourage you. Regardless of your “occupation”, you are in THE MINISTRY if you love and follow Jesus. Your ministry is reaching out to people and showing them the love of Christ. So whether you work in an office, on a subway, in construction, babysit, are a stay-at-home mom (lucky!), a doctor, a lawyer, work at McDonald’s, a pastor, a missionary…we ALL have the same MINISTRY~~

Loving People.

Colossians 3:17 (VOICE) Surely, no matter what you are doing (speaking, writing, or working), do it all in the name of Jesus our Master, sending thanks through Him to God our Father.

Colossians 3:23 (AMP) Whatever may be your task, work at it heartily (from the soul), as [something done] for the Lord and not for men,

Matthew 6:33 ESV But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you

2 Timothy 2:15 AMP Study and be eager and do your utmost to present yourself to God approved (tested by trial), a workman who has no cause to be ashamed, correctly analyzing and accurately dividing [rightly handling and skillfully teaching] the Word of Truth.

***Blog first published at SarahPriceauthor.com

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s Not the Title

  1. Esta Mae

    The person who wrote this claims not to be a minister…I whole heartedly disagree!! You could not write something this beautiful, that touches so many people and is so heart felt and not be considered a minister. You have ministered to me and many others and done it so well! Thank you for all you do, Lisa, it is appreciated!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

