Easily Offended?

Love

I have recently become pen pals (like the old-fashioned, handwritten, in cursive letters) with three beautiful ladies. Last night I got a letter from one of them. She is a precious lady who has been in my life all of my life, but has only become a real part of my life recently. (and, I’m loving every minute of it!). In the letter, she included a little half-sheet of paper. The paper may have been small, but the words written on them had big meaning.

After reading over her thoughts several times since last night, I’ve decided to blog them for you. I think it’s something someone(s) out there needs to hear, ponder, and take to heart.

SO, these words are not my words. I would give her credit, but she is extremely humble, and I don’t want to embarrass her.

When thinking about peace, how often do you hear this verse quoted, “Psalm 119:165Great peace have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them.'”?

Do we want peace?? Then which law should we love?? The Ten Commandments??

In Mark 12:28 and 29, Jesus was asked the question, “Which is most important of all the Commandments?” Jesus said, “The first in importance is, ‘The Lord your God is one; so love the Lord God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence and energy.’ And here is the second: ‘Love others as well as you love yourself.'”

So–first we must love God! That’s easy.

Second, we must love others! That is harder to do.

But, IF we do this, then NOTHING should OFFEND us or make us STUMBLE.

The result?? GREAT PEACE.

Jesus said in John 14:27 AMPPeace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]”

Sometimes we wonder why we don’t have peace. Do we love God above everyone and everything else? Do we love others? If not, that could answer why we are so easily offended–why we stumble so quickly. We aren’t following the two greatest commands…to love God and love others. Peace comes through love.

Categories: Encouragement | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

